Access to clean water is a basic human right.Therefore every home should have a water supply that is provided free of charge

Obviously having an access to fresh water is extremely important for anyone on this planet. As result, policymakers have pointed out that everyone must have clean water at no cost. I acknowledge the significance of this view, but I must disagree because it will be difficult due to individual and economic reasons.

We must consider using our remaining fresh water resources carefully. If governments supplied clean water to every household, it would be difficult to prevent unlimited use. For example, I have started saving water only after water bill has gone up. Moreover, experts say water suitable for drinking has been on the decline as glaciers and fresh water lakes have been shrinking. That is why clean water that is free of charge endangers this precious natural resources.

Free water distribution is not viable policy for different reasons. First, regular maintenance and preservation of water sources need funding. For example, infrastructures such as pipes and water filters should be built to supply families located in different places. In addition, as water pipes often burst and leak, plumbers and other professionals are needed to maintain operation of water stations. Considering the large amounts of budget needed for these kinds of expenses, this view is simply not practical.

In conclusion, even though I understand the sentiment that anyone must be entitled to drinkable water, realistically this is not possible because fresh water reservoir is exhaustible so that we must be careful with how we consume them. Furthermore, to ensure everyone can have access to fresh water, public should contribute financially.