Advertisements are becoming more and more common in everyday life. Is it a positive or negative development?

Advertisements are taking a noticeable role in the daily life of people. Although some argue in favor of this trend, I strongly contend it is entirely negative for two main reasons.

First, an increasing number of advertisements leads to an overconsuming society problem. Advertisements are made to affect people in a psychological way and make them think that they need to buy more in order to fit the society. In most of the cases it works out and people buy the things by the influence of advertisements. For instance, this year there was an interesting trend on Tiktok (social network platform) where people showed how many beauty products, clothes and perfumes they have bought while being influenced by the latest trends. Additionally, even if they don’t have enough money, people tend to buy products taking out debts. Therefore, advertisements cause not only psychological but also financial problems for people.

Second, frequent advertisements make people believe that products promoted by advertisements are the best, even though it’s not always like that. Instead of the quality of the product, more and more companies focus on how and when to show advertisements to best influence the audience. This strategy, in fact, has its effect on easily influenced groups of society. For example, most of the elderly people or children tend to buy products that are familiar to them only through advertisements, led by the idea that everything shown in advertisements is good. Hence, increasing the number of advertisements causes problems in daily life of the most vulnerable groups of society.

However, it can be argued that more advertisements can help newly produced items to get their targeted audience faster. Advertisements make more people know about the product therefore the possibility of someone who needs exact this product grows too. While this argument is valid, I believe that drawbacks of this trend outweigh the benefits like that.

In conclusion, the discussion surrounding the increase entirely of advertisements in everyday life reveals that this trends causes problems like overconsuming and disinformation for vulnerable groups. Despite some positive effects, I believe that it is an unfavorable change.