ADVERTISING DISCOURAGES PEOPLE FROM BEING DIFFERENT INDIVIDUALS BY MAKING US WANT TO BE AND LOOK THE SAME. TO WHAT EXTENT DO YOU AGREE OR DISAGREE?

It is undeniable that the advertising industry has strong impacts on the public in this era. It is said that one of the influences advertisements have on people is that they prevent individuals from being unique. From my perspective, I partly agree with this idea.

On the one hand, it is true that adverts do make people want to be and look the same. First and foremost, advertisements are often generated in the form of celebrity endorsement, which can influence the thinking of the young. This is because young people would be prompted to buy things advertised by their favorite celebrity with an idea that they would be able to support their idols. Another reason for this is the fact that many individuals have a tendency to follow passing trends. Therefore, when a newly released item produced by a well-known and prestigious brand is advertised, they would be highly likely to purchase it in order to look more elegant and fashionable. As a result of buying and utilizing similar products, people would eventually end up looking exactly as others.

On the other hand, to some extent, adverts do not encourage people to be and look the same . The major reason for this is that many individuals have already had their own desired style to follow and stick to. As a consequence, no matter how many new and trendy items they are exposed to, they would still remain uninfluenced by them; therefore, still being distinct and original.

In conclusion, although advertisements might deter people from being unique, I would maintain that people would not be strongly affected by adverts if they make attempts to maintain their own individuality.