All types of advertising should be banned because they are damaging to society. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Some people argue that a blanket ban should be introduced on advertisements because they have negative effects on society. While a total ban on adds can lead to a greater mental clarity and reduce consumerism, I firmly believe that restricting all advertisements can be a huge loss for the global economy, resulting in mass job losses.

Many people think that governments should introduce a ban on advertisements. Such a ban can present numerous positive effects and the immediate benefit from this ban would be people’s well-being. By doing so, citizens could be less distracted and have more mental clarity and focus, as a result of no longer being targeted by marketing companies trying to capture their attention. Take, for example, giant fashion companies that use celebrities and successful people – such as Michael Jordan and David Beckham – to sell their brand image. This marketing strategy often leads to consumerism. If people saw their favorite movie actor in TV commercials, ironically they opt for purchasing the product even if they already have it. Given that a complete ban on all the adverts remains the only way to tackle these problems.

Despite these concerns, prohibition of adverts would be unsatisfactory for big businesses and global economy.

The economic fallout would be enormous because the total worth of the advertising industry is 800 billion dollars. If we forbid social media adds and Tv commercials, the companies would shrink as a result tech companies such as META and Google would feel the pinch, struggling to operate without advertising revenue. Advertising is a creative industry that employs many people, however, without advertising there would be higher unemployment. That is why I think prohibiting adverts is a big risk and we cannot take this it.

In conclusion, although having harmful effects of adverts on people, personally I disagree with this view, because restricting adds could be a huge loss to global economy and increase joblessness.