An increasing number of people are choosing cosmetic surgery in order to improve their appearance. Why? Is it a positive or negative development?

In recent days, there is an increasingly prevalent trend of receiving cosmic surgeries, especially among young women, which arouses social-wide concerns. This essay addresses the potential reasons contributing to the phenomenon and asserts the detrimental factors outweigh the advantages.

The passion of altering their outlooks from various people can be attributed to multiple reasons. One primary reason can be the looking anxiety imposed by the digital platforms, on which, with artificial intelligence tools applied, most people obtain extraordinary appearances and get used to their own beauty. In contrast, they then feel unprecedentedly disappointed when they move their eyes to the mirror and look at their own faces in the real world, generating an impulse to engaging cosmic surgeries immediately. In addition, it is undeniable that people of outstanding outfits can gain benefits though better first impressions. Suffering from the competitive labor market and capital-oriented society, people in the modern society are likely to grab any opportunity to acquire more advantages in workplace, leading to increasing visits of cosmic hospitals.

I contend cosmic surgeries are not worthy to be advocated since they can occasionally lead to lethal safety issues and exaggerate peer pressures, though a better appearance can enhance one’s confidence and courage. On one hand, surgeries on faces are of almost highest risks among all operations in hospitals, with even well-known surgeons making mistakes in breaking blood vessels and neuron connections when altering bone structures on the face, letting alone the junior ones. A young Chinese adolescent, for instance, stole money from her parents and flied to South Korea, a country with high reputation in cosmic surgeries, but eventually lost her life, which shocked the whole Chinese society at that time. On the other hand, if some of the students take action to positively alter their outlooks, peer pressure is then posed to other students in the classroom, grabbing too much attention which should have been placed in their coursework. What’s worse, students from low-income families may form senses of inferior and stress as the surgeries are unaffordable to them.

In conclusion, an emphasis on appearance is attributed to anxiety from cutting-edge virtual technologies and wish of obtaining more opportunities in career. Nevertheless, the development of trends does cause life-threatened safety problems and increase stress, which should not be promoted from my perspective.