An increasing number of people are now using the internet to meet new people and socialize. Some people think this has brought people closer together while others think people are becoming more isolated. Discuss both sides and give your opinion.

It is impossible to deny that the Internet has been growing in popularity in modern society. While some people maintain that individuals are more isolated due to using the Internet, I am in favor of the view that it allows humans to keep in touch with others effortlessly.

Firstly, many people think that the Internet’s influence on socialization leads to isolation. It is argued that this international network creates a sense of detachment from real-life connections. For example, a study has shown that 45% of individuals who spend more than 5 hours a day on the Internet feel disconnected from others compared to those who spend less time online. Another argument is that technological developments in the field of communication could put people’s lives at risk. For illustration, many couples solve their problems via social platforms instead of meeting in person because most of them can not understand others’ true feelings through text messages or icons. As a result, this solving way would cause misunderstanding and communication breakdown. However, it should not be forgotten the internet provides numerous valuable platforms for disabled people or social anxiety to connect with others in a supportive environment.

In contrast, I believe that the Internet’s role is bringing the community closer together. The most significant reason for this is that online platforms transcend geographical boundaries to travel long distances. This is because the Internet allows individuals to strengthen relationships with persons from diverse backgrounds and cultures. For example, Facebook and Skype give people ample opportunities to make new friends from other parts of the world without going outside. Additionally, the Internet reduced human loneliness efficiently. This is evidence to show that one of the National Library of Medicine’s (NLM) empirical results shows that Internet use significantly improves both the time and frequency of interactions between people’s families and friends, rather than making them feel separated and isolated.

To conclude, although I acknowledge that isolation is caused by the Internet, I firmly believe that the Internet is an effective tool to reduce the distance between persons in modern society.