As transport and accommodation problems are increasing in many cities, some governments are encouraging businesses to move to rural areas. Do you think that the advantages outweigh disadvantages?

It is safe to assume that many large companies located in big cities, business owners and most organization believe that bigger metropolises can certainly give them more chance to open business and have much more employment opportunities. Due to these convictions, it has created a lot of transport and housing problems in many cities; therefore, more governments are encouraging business to move to rural areas. While this can result in many inconveniences and losses, I must admit that there are far more advantages when looking on the bright side.

On the one hand, the downside of such actions can be completely detrimental to most businesses. In term of relocating a company, it will mean that businesses may have to construct everything from scratch and establish efficient supply chains to combat the problems of isolation in rural areas. It can be even worse if the companies do not have enough construction resources and lack of investments from the governments; fortunately, governments can support them with fringe benefits, cheaper land and lower taxes. But that is not the main reason why most companies dislike the idea, it is because when they move from big cities to isolated areas, it will definitely be a huge loss for them. Because of how competitive the economy can be, relocating to remote areas can compromise their social status, lose their customers and eventually be a strike on their finance

On the other hand, it can be advantageous for both companies and governments. The reason for these plans is to mitigate the problem of overcrowding, the root cause of transport and accommodation issues in cities. In detail, it can reduce traffic congestion, parking issues, the amount of people using public transportation and improve air quality. Another benefit is creating career prospects; therefore reducing rural unemployment, and boosting rural economies. It will bridge the gap between urban and rural economies, making it easier for businesses to expand production. Besides, people living in this area can take advantage of that to improve their standard of living. By upgrading infrastructure and selling lands, country dwellers certainly make a big profit; as a result, moving businesses to the countryside will encourage growth in surrounding areas and lower the cost of doing business for companies.

In conclusion, although there are some issues and struggles for businesses when moving to rural areas, it is worth consideration. In my opinion, the advantages of moving businesses to rural areas outweigh the disadvantages.