As transport and accommodation problems are increasing in many cities, some governments are encouraging businesses to move to rural areas. Do you think that the advantages outweigh disadvantages?

In recent years, social issues such as traffic and accommodation are becoming more and more popular, thereby the authorities need to encourage businesses to relocate to countryside regions. In my opinion, the merits of this phenomenon overshadow the demerits for several reasons, which will be discussed in the essay below.

On the one hand, there are various drawbacks of this change. Firstly, it may severely affect the revenue of these firms. Specifically, when the countryside’s population is not as high as the city’s, the range of potential consumers can decline significantly. For example, small businesses selling food products might gradually become out of business due to the loss of many city’s consumers, who are not willing to travel long routes to rural areas for purchase purposes. Secondly, the budget for moving these businesses to other places can be exorbitant for both the government and these businesses. Particularly, the amount of money needed to spend on reconstruction facilities can be huge as well as not practical since, instead, it can be spent for development of business.

On the other hand, I still reckon that the benefits of this transition eclipse the disadvantages. One of the advantages is that it can provide more space for building houses for residents. Especially when these businesses in a metropolitan city often occupy a large area leading to the lack of space for accommodation. For instance, if businesses move to rural places, the government will have more area for constructing more houses and apartments, which can tackle the housing shortage. Furthermore, it also helps for lessening the bottleneck of traffic during rush hours. This is predicated on the fact that businesses might require a huge human workforce meaning lots of people traveling to work in these companies, which causes congestion. Take Samsung business, which has thousands of workers, as an epitome and if these people commute to work at the same time, it will spark massive congestion in the city.

In conclusion, while the downsides of this phenomenon may lead to some problems about the decrease in business revenue and expensive budget for relocation, I still deem that the advantages are superior because not only does it provide more space for accommodation, but also reduce the congestion in the

city.