Car ownership has increased so rapidly over the past thirty years that in many cities around the world there are constant traffic jams. How true do you think this statement is? What measures can governments take to discourage people from owning cars?

Over the past few decades, there has been a huge increase in car ownership around the world, turning many cities into large traffic congestion. I believe that this statement is completely true, and governments could dissuade car use by introducing road taxes.

My opinion aligns with this belief because cities are full of transport nowadays. Given the development of car technology, people are increasingly resorting to private vehicles, buying them on a large scale. This, in turn, has noticeably risen the number of automobiles on the roads of many cities, which has resulted in so-called “one big traffic jam”. China serves as a great example. The country has reported that more citizens, compared to the past, possess and use cars for short-distance trips, which has filled the roads with transport.

However, governments can implement road taxes to mitigate the issue. When people drive their automobiles even for short-distance trips, it comes as no surprise that traffic jams occur. The road taxes might discourage the public from using cars when unnecessary, making exceptions only for those in emergency. Fearing expensive fines, individuals may stop driving cars on every occasion, leading to a decrease in the number of cars on roads. Sweden, for example, is a pioneer in using this method. To tackle the problem of increased traffic congestion, the country started to fine every non-urgent use of car, successfully achieving the goal.

In conclusion, I completely agree with this view, as many cities have witnessed a growth in car use because of the development of automobile industry. To discourage people from driving cars, governments can impose strict road taxes, fining drivers who use their cars without a reason.