Children who are brought up in families that do not have large amounts of money are better prepared to deal with the problems of adult life than children brought up by wealthy parents. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

Some say that children from a poor family are better equipped to manage problems of adulthood than children from a rich family. I disagree to this to a certain extent.

In high class families, the children are more sheltered and protected. For all their problems, the parents find a solution which makes the more dependent on the people around and less on themselves. For example, a friend of mine was unable to apply for a apartment she wanted, but as soon as mentioned it to her father, he was able to contact an acquaintance of his and get the apartment for her. Whereas as in lower class families, the children have to be ready to fight for what they want from a much younger age.

On the contrary, because the children from poorer background are forced to survive on their own they start dwelling into bad habits, like stealing, etc. But for the children of wealthy families, the principles and morals of righteousness are taught early on in the life and hence they tend to stay away from such bad habit and focus on using these for their own good. These can also help them deal with the stress and pressure of being an adult. For instance, they would speak up if there is any discrimination against a colleague at their workplace.

To conclude, I would say that the children from families who don’t have large amounts of money are not much better prepared to deal with adult life problems than the children from a wealthy family.