Companies should provide sports facilities for local community. To what extent do you agree?

There have been calls for large corporations to build sports and social facilities for the local communities where they operate. In my view, I would agree on the grounds that these facilities can strengthen communal bonds and promote a company’s image in a positive light.

Firstly, as most people are increasingly beset with professional and familial duties, they often lack the time to participate in communal activities and forge meaningful connections with one another. By constructing sports and social facilities, these companies can grant these people the appropriate setting for them to participate in common activities. This is evident in cities well-known for quality of life such as Hanoi where most of the parks there have been built by Vinaconex, one of the largest companies in Vietnam. Hence, most of the local denizens are able to engage in conversation with each other and forge new relationships during holiday seasons or through recreational activities held in those parks.

Secondly, the provision of communal facilities can create a positive image of the sponsoring companies. These facilities promulgate a sense that the sponsors are giving back to the community and fulfilling public promises of social responsibility. This can therefore build trust between these large companies and the local people. To cite one instance, Nostrand Ltd., a latex manufacturer based in upstate New York, provided funding for local sports centers in various towns across the state, enabling their citizens to engage in various community-based sports. A by-product of this act is residents there now appreciate the brand and purchase the company’s products at a higher rate.

In conclusion, large companies should be encouraged to provide sports and social facilities for local communities as they can help strengthen communal bonds and promote their brand. Such facilities will continue to flourish in the near future because of these decided benefits.