Competition for university study is becoming increasingly strong Why is this happening? Is this a positive of negative development?

It is true that competition for university places has become more intensively than ever. There are a number of explanations behind this issue before evaluating whether it is a positive or negative trend.

There are various factors that explain the rising of competition for university education. First and foremost, many people hold the view that having higher education is the easiest way to seek sustainable job opportunities. In the past, illiteracy was common in many nations so university degree played an important role in attracting good recruiters. Although job market has undergone a large number of fluctuations over many years, most parents still think that demands of business have not changed in this period. They put their children under pressure that studying in university is the only way to have a better life. Then, the next generations follow this way and aim to have higher education like predetermined path. I belief the main cause for this problem is that many children are persuaded to believe they will have better job opportunities after having university degree by their parents. Consequently, many young people pursue university study not out of genuine interest, but because of parental expectations and social norms.

However, the increasing competition for higher education also leads to several negative consequences. On the one hand, it is obvious to see that this tendency excessive pressure on students, many of whom experience stress, anxiety, and burnout as they attempt to outperform their peers. For instance, most victims of suicides and depression in the world experienced the pressure in education. On the other hand, intense competition often encourages many unhealthy learning practices, such as rote memorization and focus on exam score rather than genuine understanding or creativity. Finally, the growth of competition is not only harms individual students but also creates psychological problem for society.

In conclusion, while sustainable job opportunities can rise the competition for higher education, this trend bring many negative consequences for children who have to face with a number of mental health issues and incorrect orientation.