"Completing university education is thought by some to be the best way to get a good job. On the other hand, other people think that getting experience and developing soft skills is more important. Discuss both sides and give your opinion."

People are divided in their opinion regarding the necessity of tertiary education. While some people are convinces that a university diploma plays a crucial role in finding a job, others are convinced that self-development is more important. The following essay takes a look at both perspectives, gives my opinion, and reach a reasonable conclusion.

First and foremost, higher education is needed to verify the qualification of an employee, which is often required by big companies. It is presumed, that universities teach their student essential skills and simplify alumni’s onboarding process. Lectures, seminars, colloquiums – all of that provides individuals with academic training and useful knowledge. Moreover, many tertiary institutions ensure students get a well-rounded education by giving access to various workshops and internships, where they can apply their academic knowledge. However, not all professors’ pedagogical approach is not effective enough, as they refuse to implement formative assessment by giving preferences only to standardised testing. In that case, learners can encounter problems with utilizing their skills in practical situations. Then, the degree does not have any real value in the job market.

Building on this, cognitive development and having developed soft-skills carry greater weight. Candidates can educate themselves not merely through rote memorization, but also by experiential learning, which lets them work in a team, manage their workload efficiently, and adapt to changing workplace conditions. Furthermore, many organizations offer vocational trainings to improve workforce competence. Thus, individuals without formal qualifications can count on better career prospects and benefits.

Personally, I wholeheartedly believe, that combining education with self-development is pivotal when looking for a steady job, since it is hard to perform well when one is not able to apply soft skills or lacks the necessary knowledge for the occupation.

In conclusion, students should not rely only on their diploma, but enhance their abilities beyond the classroom. At the same time, obtaining a highly-paid position is very challenging in competitive industries, because the majority of recruiters automatically reject applications from candidates who do not hold a degree.