Countries should spend money on trains rather than new roads. Do you agree or disagree?

It is predominantly advised to invest significant funds into the railways more than the roadway system for the nation. I personally believe and completely agree that this will be a smart move to undertake for the future development of the country. Furthermore, the two main reasons on which I base this opinion would be cost-effectiveness and eco-friendliness. I will elaborate on the reasons in this following essay.

Cost-effectiveness: in the current situation where inflation is at its peak, people strive hard to pay for their fuel. For instance, 1 gallon of petrol sells for 106 rupees in India, and by this, on average, a scooter will give approximately 50 kilometers of range. However, for a third of the money spent on fuel, the individual will be able to afford a train ticket, in other words, it costs only a third when compared to the cost of a road-driven scooter.

Furthermore, by using trains, the number of commutes by individuals and their vehicles drops drastically. How? I’ll say, about 1,000 people can board a train at the same time, while it would take around 1,000 separate vehicles. Moreover, this further causes a lot of carbon emissions, which impact us in the form of global warming. Global warming is the number one threat at present for the entire human race, so by using trains, the amount of carbon emissions reduces as well as the impacts which are caused due to traffic congestion will be under control.

To conclude, if a country’s government prioritizes investing in the railways rather than the roadways, it will definitely make a huge impact on their inflation and their country’s overall global carbon emission rates. Furthermore, I believe that this will be the smartest move for the generations to come in their nation.