Countries with a long average working time are more economically successful, but they are also likely to suffer from negative social consequences. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Nations with extended working hours are thought to be more economically thriving than countries where people work less. However, while longer working hours might suggest greater economic productivity, they often come with significant social drawbacks. In my view, I agree that the longer employees are at work, the more likely they are to face social negativity, but a country with long working hours do not necessarily translate into a more prosperous country. My argument is that long hours of work can result in stress and struggles in maintaning work-life balance. This would lead to social problems. Moreover, there are nations with less working time and more holidays that are still economically booming.

Firstly, prolonged working hours causes stress and the imbalance in work-life relationship. This is because relaxation is necessary for everyone. Therefore, when people work more, they will not have much time for themselves to relax, which attributes to work-life imbalance. Because people have less time to unwind, they are also likely to suffer from stress as a result. This situation undeniably prompts various social issues, such as declining mental health and lower overall life satisfaction. For example, in Japan, where the work cultures emphasize completing tasks over completing the required working time. In other words, employees have to work overtime and often face immense pressure to have their work done before leaving the office. Consequently, there are numerous instances of death reported due to overwork and many cases of severe stress and health problems among Japanese citizens.

However, not all countries have long working hours like Japan. In fact, some nations, despite having just 8 hours working a day and more holidays, still entail a financial stability for their nations. Some notable examples of this are European countries, such as the Netherlands, Denmark, or Sweden. Those countries are well-known for having shorter workweeks and generous vacations policies. Notwithstanding this, they still experience higher productivity levels, stronger economies and a superior quality of life. These nations demonstrate that economic prosperity can be achieved without sacrificing social well-being.

In conclusion, although longer working hours might contribute to economic prospect, they are not the sole measurement of a nation’s wealth. Indeed, social issues stemming from stress and poor work-life balance are likely due to this heavy emphasis on working longer hours. Countries with a more balanced approach to work and leisure can still achieve high performance in economy while ensuring the general welfare of their residents.