Demand for food is increasing worldwide. What are the causes of this? What measures can the international community take to make sure the supply of food is enough?

It is a well acknowledged fact that scarcity of food is increasing while over population and wastage of food seemed to be the main drivers of this problem of food shortage. There are certain initiatives that can be taken by national officials and international centres to tackle this issue.

The most significant problem that requires the utmost attention is in increasing population. More the people more the land required to accommodate leaving behind less land for farming if the earth is not divided fairly between between agriculture and living, then balance between the supply and demand of food will automatically disrupted leading to shortage of food. Apart from this, in most of the areas, traditional methods of farming are used which result in slow growth of food.

Further more wasting food in the form of ordering food at a restaurant beyond the capacity to eat and not using the food before the expiry dates. To further bolster my opinion, a study conducted by American food association revealed that the world wastes about two 500,000,000 tons of food every year.

Are there any measures to overcome this issue? Certainly, there are firstly global centres should made it possible to introduce new technologies and methods for farming all over the world according to quality of soil and land. Government should form the laws that restrict excessive and unnecessary buying a food items to reverse the food wastage and also should make sure that farmers are getting proper support in financial and technical terms.

To conclude food is a basic necessity of life and its scarcity is a major issue and its wasting should be prevented even though shortage of food is increasing, but by implementing proper steps, this can be reversed