Demand for gas and oil is increasing and so finding new resources in remote and untouched areas is a necessity. Do the advantages of this outweigh its disadvantages?

The demand for gas and oil is increasing. Therefore, it is necessary to find new resources in remote and untouched places. In this essay, I will explain why the drawbacks outweigh the benefits.

It is advantageous to find new sources in remote and untouched areas because gas and oils are still in demand. Gas and oil are necessary for peoples’ lives, these sources can be used in many ways and it is essential for everyday life. For example, gas is used for heating and cooking, Oil is used for fuel for cars, making elastics, and plastics and many more ways. However, if these sources die out, people will not be able to maintain their lives. For this reason, it is important to find another source in untouched and remote areas as there are limitations for quantities of extraction and if new areas are untouched, the sources will last for a long and there will be new job opportunities for the locals to make a living. Clearly, it is beneficial to find another source of gas and oil in remote and untouched areas.

However, there are high risks of losing ecosystems to find new sources in remote and untouched areas, and the drawbacks outweigh the benefits. Untouched areas in Japan like the Shiretoko peninsula, have abundant ecosystems, and to maintain this balance, none of the inhabitants can be lacking, as they would face extinction, and the balance of the ecosystem is fragile. For example, if the Shiretoko forest and rivers were destroyed forsources of oil and gass, indigenous animals would lose their homes and disrupt their food cycles. Shiretoko brown bears, for example, rely on deer and fish for food, but if rivers and forests are contaminated by the development of plantations for new energy sources, they will lose their food sources, leading to the loss of food for other animals in the ecosystem. This would lead to the extinction of the brown bears.

food for other animals in the ecosystem. This would consequently lead to the extinction of the brown bears.