Every year several language die out. Some people think this is not important because life will be easier if there are fewer languages. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion.

Language is a medium that helps in communication. A section of society thinks that the extinction of many languages every year is insignificant, as using fewer languages will help to make life easier. I completely disagree with this notion. In this essay, I will discuss it in detail and substantiate my opinion.

There are various factors, such as unique identity, culture, literature, and diversity, to consider when assessing the importance of each language. Most languages carry their own identity in the form of scripts, unique usage, and phonetics. Some do not even have their own script and exist in verbal form, carrying the history of many generations. For instance, most tribal languages do not have their own script, and those languages are surviving only due to their regular usage. Moreover, cultural imprints are considered another ingredient of any language. It also carries slangs, particular names and descriptions for occasions, customs, and positions that cannot be replicated or translated into another language. In addition to that, languages also help to sustain cultural diversity, preserving age-old traditions such as Onam in Kerala, Dussera in Karnataka, and Pongal in Tamil Nadu as regional festivals; these states are keeping their own identity on the basis of their mother tongue.

However, some languages have their own prominence due to various reasons, such as globalization, career opportunities, and convenience in communication. As a medium, language has a significant role in most day-to-day activities. Most countries prefer individuals competent in global languages as employees. Furthermore, some people believe that one global language will be convenient for all transactions across the world and will help in sharing the same beliefs and culture. Consequently, it will lead to the reduction of discrimination and racism. For example, there are a lot of problems due to a lack of sound knowledge of English, and this creates difficulties in migrants’ lives in getting placements as well as job opportunities. Additionally, most languages are only relevant to a few, and considering only languages used by the majority will sustain in the far future.

In my opinion, every language has its own uniqueness and should be preserved. Widely used languages are not an alternative for any minor languages and their uses; in that case, the die-out of a language is a major issue.

To sum up, the disappearance of many languages every year is due to several reasons that can be avoided, and all languages should be preserved with all their essence and identity.