For centuries, important parts of education have remained such as reading, writing and math. With the advent of computers, some people think that computer skill should be made as a fourth skill to be added to the list. To what extent do you agree?

Even though reading, writing, and math have always occupied critical positions within the education system, some believe that computer proficiency deserves the fourth place in this list of literacy. In my opinion, although modern life requires computer skills from every progressive person, adding them to the mentioned list could discriminate against those without involuntary access to computing devices.

On the one hand, it would be almost impossible to survive within the global employment market without basic computer skills. According to recent research conducted by human resources professionals, 65% of global job vacancies are ready to accept employees without any formal education but with excellent computer proficiency. Therefore, understanding the operating systems of modern machines adds competence to thrive in the marketplace.

On the other hand, discriminating a great proportion of the world population based on not having access to computers is biased and inequitable. For example, people from poor countries in Africa and Asia suffer from the accessibility to the resources needed to learn and such a situation dominates in other rural parts of the Earth. Moreover, basic computer skills are relatively easy to acquire, especially for people who can write, read and calculate, and such courses can be conducted for those who lack access to computer skills education. This endeavor can contribute to those in need to acquire the main gist of the technology.

Considering all the above-mentioned factors, it can be assumed that while being able to operate a computer could be added to the compulsory literacy list, the rights of those whose access is constrained should not be avoided.