For centuries, important parts of education have remained such as reading, writing and math. With the advent of computers, some people think that computer skill should be made as a fourth skill to be added to the list. To what extent do you agree?

Throughout history, mathematical and literary skills such as reading and writing are considered as the most crucial subjects to be taught in school. However, it is argued that computer knowledge should be also emphasized in educational program because of the rapid growth of advanced technologies nowadays. I tend to agree that this idea will bring more advantages to students.

To begin with, a mastery computer skill may ensure individuals to not only achieve their goals but also enjoy their life more easily. The existence of high-tech makes this skill become more essential to the society, so people who possess this ability will become competitive candidates in job-seeking process. Furthermore, this modern skill also supports human beings to deal with tasks more simply and efficiently. For example, when a data specialist wants to summarize all customer information through surveys, smart applications such as Microsoft Excel or Microsoft Access can be used to filter and organize necessary data in a time-saving way.

In terms of daily life, being professional in computer skills brings individuals more opportunities to access larger knowledge resources. It is undeniable that people were struggle with interacting with international information and updates, but now, they can easily access to electronic websites, which can broaden their horizons to some extent. Moreover, computer abilities can support human beings tackle with a lot of complex and difficult tasks. For instance, it used to take a long time when two people contacted each other by physical mail if they were not in the same place. However, individuals who are good at using computers, can send an email in a few minutes, which allows work go smoothly and efficiently. They can even attach documents or images to make the information exchange process easier.

In conclusion, I believe that the acquisition of computer skills should be as vital as learning other basic abilities like reading or writing since these contemporary skills demonstrate unparalleled benefits for achieving success and easing our life.