Forests produce fresh oxygen and participate in regulating climate. But every year tree cover of our planet is lessening due to deforestation. What are the primary causes of deforestation? To what results may it lead?

Today, forests play a critical role in generating oxygen and controlling climate, however, with each year the number of trees on our planet significantly decreases because of ubiquitous deforestation. The main reasons for deforestation are urbanization and agricultural expansion, while its negative consequences include loss of biodiversity and soil erosion.

Urbanization occurs as one of the primary causes of deforestation, with rural areas being converted into modernized urban zones due to additional housing being required for overpopulated cities. For instance, numerous housing construction projects in Moscow involve building in remote areas, which requires deforestation. Additionally, a phenomenon of converting land from non-agricultural to agricultural, known as agricultural expansion, similarly causes deforestation. Likewise, wetlands and grasslands suffer from farming expansion.

Biodiversity loss is a plain yet harmful consequence of deforestation, which causes indigenous species to flee their homes and overall does often irreparable damage to local wildlife. Not only deforestation causes the loss of biodiversity, but it also endangers ecosystems. Moreover, soil erosion is one of the results of continuous deforestation. Despite agricultural expansion being one of the main goals of deforestation, soil erosion, caused by the former, leads to a completely opposite outcome, with soil either being less productive, or infertile at all. Furthermore, it affects ecosystems and puts local wildlife in danger. An illustrative example can be found in India, specifically in Brahmaputra valley, where deforestation leaves large areas of land damaged and with reduced productivity.

To conclude, deforestation is undoubtedly one of the most significant global issues humanity faces today. Caused by urbanization and agricultural encroachment, deforestation contributes to various difficulties, such as biodiversity loss and soil erosion.