Fossil fuels, such as coal, oil and natural gas, are the main source for many countries. However, some nations are using alternative energy such as solar power, wind power. Is this a positive or negative development?

In recent years, the use of renewable energy sources are encouraged to alter the consumption of fossil fuels such as coal, oil, natural gas in most areas in the world. I think it is beneficial to utilize solar energy, wind power in human life.

On the one hand, the amount of fossil fuels is consumed around the globe is the primary cause of global issues such as global warming and air pollution. The production of coal, oil and gas release methane emissions which is a greenhouse gas cause the warming of globe. This methane gas is more harmful than carbon dioxide in rising global temperature. By burning coal and natural gas to cooking and heating, many people are suffered from contaminants like black carbon and other pollutants that is constantly released to environment. These toxic emissions lead to air pollution which damage seriously to human health in various areas around the world.

On the other hand, using renewable energy brings many benefits to tackle society’s problems. The renewable resources are produced by natural sources namely wave power, solar energy, wind energy. Thus, these energy sources are clean and have not adverse effect on the environment by carbon dioxide or other contaminated gas. Moreover, fossil fuels will be used up by the large amount of consumption annually while the renewable resources will never run out of as there are always sun and wind.

To conclude, while the fossil fuel is widely utilized in many countries, I believe that it should be converted into renewable resources which have positive impact.