Government investment in the arts, such as music and theatre, is a waste of money. Governments must invest this money in public services instead. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

There is a common concept, that funding works of artists is a waste of budget money, Officials could contribute this money to the public sector.

Firstly, art is a crucial part of entertainment, development, education and creativity of every society. Art has existed for thousands of years beginning with cave paintings and it probably will remain for thousands of years more. According to scientists, art influences our brain abilities in a beneficial way. Therefore painting, music, and dancing classes are part of the curriculum worldwide and it must not be neglected by governments.

Secondly, the only controversy is the proportion of the funds spent on art and public sectors. The countries popular with tourists have to contribute the resources into museums, theatres, galleries which bring money back with some interest, whereas agricultural and industrial countries concentrate their investments into public sector to boost their citizens’ living conditions.

In conclusion, funding arts cannot be seen as a waste of state resources. Artworks are essential in society, because they take a place in social, educational, tourism and economic sectors. Simultaneously, every government has to rationally allocate the budget,considering the needs of the country. I strongly believe that the most effective decision is balances among sectors which art is funded, but without losses for key areas.