Government should ban dangerous sports, others think they have the freedom to choose. Discuss both views and give your comments.

In recent years, it has been argued that perilous sports should be forbidden, while the alternative stance asserts that it is people’s choice to engage in any kind of activity. The purpose of this essay is to discuss both sides of this contentious argument and then explain why I agree with the latter viewpoint.

On the one hand, the proponents of the first viewpoint tend to point out a combination of reasons. First and foremost, there are many unexpected accidents related to getting involved in dangerous sports programs because of unwary actions and behaviors. To illustrate, research from Harvard University found that about 70 people pass away annually due to unfortunate situations while joining hazardous sports. Another compelling reason is that a huge amount of money is spent on these sports’ facilities, which is not only wasting the financial budget but can also be dangerous if purchasing low-quality features. Therefore, before utilizing money on unsafe activities such as bungee jumping and scuba driving, individuals should take careful consideration.

On the other hand, opponents of the above view would claim potential reasons. The primary reason is that extreme sports can be considered a method to pursue people’s passions and enrich their quality of life. After stressful hours at the workplace, taking part in their favorite activities can reduce their stress and give them a sense of satisfaction. Furthermore, in today’s society, the general public is living in an equal nation, which means citizens have their own freedom to choose their means of recreational activities as long as they do not have a high risk of injuries and have a safe quality of equipment. Hence, the authorities should not ban the freedom of inhabitants to participate in dangerous sports.

In conclusion, I believe that both sides are justifiable. However, on balance, despite having some potential risks, there are other benefits from unsafe sports, like following individuals’ ambitions and their freedom in today’s world, which is likely more convenient than its downsides.