If the product is good and meets consumer needs than advertising is unnecessary. To what extent do you agree?

Marketing is a key department in any organization. However, many argue that advertising is of less importance if the good itself satisfies customer demands and is high quality. In this essay, while I will acknowledge the product is an essential part of the marketing mix, I will prove it cannot replace advertising altogether since it is valuable in persuading new consumers and also helps to extend the product life cycle.

Products that match the consumer preference precisely are central to any company. If it can satisfy the demands of the clients, it can trigger repeated purchases and generate substantial sales without much effort after launch. For instance, Apple phones continue to maintain a considerable market share due to the features of the device, which match the technological advances and customer expectations. Yet, the impact of promotion cannot be disregarded because it is necessary to inform the customers that the product matches their requirements. Without advertising, there are nearly no alternate methods of conveying information about the product’s quality, and it is unlikely that customers will try it without knowing any details. This is particularly true for expensive commodities with several competitors, like television, that resort to hard selling tactics to convince the target audience their needs are met better than the competitors’ product and service, regardless of what the actual quality of the product is.

Additionally, sales promotion assists in extending the life of the product. Given the inflow of thousands of products everyday into the market, older ones are forgotten and reach saturation in revenue rather quickly. Advertising can help keep in the product fresh in the minds of the customers, and prevent its reduction in sales. For instance, Coca cola has never seen a declining trend in sales, and it continues to dominate the global beverage industry because of its heavy investment in marketing despite having a delicious taste.

In conclusion, all the elements of the marketing mix are equally integral for the success of an organization and its products. While the good should be able to meet customer expectations to achieve customer loyalty, it cannot result in advertising being overlooked, as it is vital to attract first time customers and delay the product’s exit from the market.