In developing countries, children in rural communities have less access to education. Some people believe that the problem can be solved by providing more schools and teachers, while others think that the problem can be solved by providing computer and Internet access. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

In many underdeveloped countries, it is hard for children in rural areas to access formal education. Opinions are divided on whether this issue can be addressed by the provision of more schools and teachers or computers and Internet access. From my perspective, both choices are of equal importance and students cannot reach their full potential without them.

Proponents of the addition of educational facilities and tutors may point to an interactive environment. Indeed, a learning environment could enable children to socialise with their peers, which facilitates their communication and cooperation skills. When doing group activities, for example, students are capable of sharpening their working experiences and interpersonal skills via cooperating with others, which can be extremely beneficial for later stages of life. Children could also inquire about some misunderstandable points in recent lectures of their teachers. This convenience facilitates their learning process and enables them to have adequate and in-depth knowledge, thus significantly enhancing their academic performance. For instance, there may be some mathematical formulas that students cannot prove themselves, but teachers’ supportive hands can help them overcome these obstacles.

However, children’s overall developments are not only attributed to schools and teachers, but also computer and Internet access. To specify, apart from fixed curriculum at schools, which may be unsuitable for a minority, the Internet offers students various sources of knowledge related to numerous topics, especially their interests. Students who are interested in English, for instance, are able to learn this language via watching English videos on Youtube and listening to US-UK music on Spotify, which promotes their pronunciation and listening ability. Another point worth mentioning is that students can access high-quality lectures from professors in top universities. Some learning platforms such as Coursera and Khan Academy provide students in many regions, including developing countries, with well-qualified courses from Havard and Stanford universities, the majority of which are free of charge. Therefore, they can further their studies and reach their maximum potential.

In conclusion, I hold the firm belief that the roles of schools, teachers and technological developments are equally crucial and collaborative efforts should be made between these factors in order to provide children in developing regions with holistic education.