In many countries, children and teenagers are committing more crimes. Why is this happening? How should they be punished?

Along with positive repercussions of our rapidly evolving and ever developing world, statistics suggest that the number of crimes committed by young people experiences a substantial rise. Probable reasons triggering this macabre and chilling trend as well as potential solutions will be scrutinised before formulating a balanced conclusion.

To begin with, our industrialised and globalised world encourages and tempts gullible teenagers to possess more and more modern gadgets and luxuries, which implicitly make them think that having more money and goods is a recipe for success and power. It’s my own conviction that our polarised and divided by better and less-off society is the root of the problems related to youngsters breaking the law more frequently. Comparing themselves with others, teenagers experience a feeling of bitterness and injustice, therefore, this pent-up anger and frustration becomes a starting point for committing crimes.

Another fundamental problem behind aggressive or desperate teenagers, capable of violating the law is reduced sensitivity and desensitisation. Evidently there are an inordinate amount of reasons for this, such as the proliferation of gadgets, post COVID era , the geopolitical tension as well as a communication gap within a family. For example, being under a lot of pressure, young people avoid expressing their contradictory emotions and find it difficult to express them in a proper and psychologically healthy way, instead, they tend to repress their feelings and start playing computer games or eventually doing some illegal activities.

Fortunately, there are still some simple potential solutions that can theoretically mitigate the risk of this growing concern. Firstly, I believe, that instead of punishing children and teenagers, providing them with some help and support coming from parents and social services must paradoxically turn out more efficient. Secondly, all educational systems should persistently promote equality, for instance by making students wear uniforms and restricting the use of gadgets during the study time.

In summary, young generation are the most vulnerable segments of the population, but in tandem with this, some of them can become disturbingly unpredictable and erratic. Therefore, parents, teachers and the government should focus their efforts on fighting the cause not the effects of rising crime rates among youngsters. From my own perspective, teenagers have to be kept busy and supported to realise their potential in society with equal opportunities and rights. That’s what can bring them together in the unity of trustworthy and law-abiding citizens.