In many countries, children are becoming overweight and unhealthy. Some people think that government should have the responsibility. To what extend do you agree or disagree ?

Over the previous few years, childhood obesity rates have risen globally, with the incidence being observed more in some countries. Some people put forward that governments should take an effective course of actions to reverse the problem of children becoming overweight and unhealthy. While admitting an undeniable role of the governments in addressing this issue, I believe that parents also need to contribute.

To start with, it is imperative to figure out underlying causes of childhood obesity and deterioration in their health. One of the major causes can be less availability of facilities that children can use to avoid sedentary habits. These days, most children around the world are becoming addicted to their gaming consoles as a mean of entertainment. Therefore, if the governments were to ensure that these children have an access to facilities to pursuit physical activities, there would be noticeable reduction in the proportion of obese children. This is because, children start spending their time doing outdoor activities, thus leading an active life.

That notwithstanding, the availability of the access to sporting facilities does not mean that all children are encouraged to become physically active. In this regard, parental intervention is needed. Because parents spend more time with their children, they should set limitations on screen time for their children but encourage them to participate more in physical activities. In so doing, they can help their children avoid leading a sedentary life, thus preventing their children from being overweight and unhealthy.

Furthermore, fast-food consumption is another area of concern since this also plays a part in an increase in the proportion of unfit children. For example, the number of dual-income families has been rising in recent years. After long hours of working, parents simply prefer turning to unhealthy eating options rather than cooking at home. This is because, such food is often reasonably priced and widely available. However, parents should be careful with offering their children certain eating habits since they may not be beneficial for their health. This can result in a rise in the percentage of overweight children when consumed consistently. These are just some of many cases in which parents are more expected to shoulder the responsibility.

In conclusion, fatness among young children is one the most concerning issues we face today. Having figured out the underlying causes for this concern, I contend that the coexistence of both parental and governmental contribution makes the problem less severe. In terms of providing sporting facilities for children, the governments should be obliged to provide, while parents undertake the responsibility of taking control over their children’s free time activities and their diet, and directing them when needed.