In many countries, more and more people are competing for a place to study in universities. Why does this happen? Do you think this is a positive or negative development?

Many people consider enrolling in university a golden way to success today. Because of that, the competition for a spot in college is becoming more intense than in the past. There are several reasons why this trend is happening, and it has both positive and negative effects.

This issue can be explained in several ways. First of all, the stressful competition among many scholars comes from the fact that many people desire to earn a degree from a prestigious university. In other words, when students have qualifications that recognize their specialized knowledge and abilities, they are likely to have an opportunity to be recruited by employers from big companies, as this increases the reliability of recruiters’ assessments of candidates. As a result, students may have a chance to get a well-paid job. Moreover, attending university helps strengthen students’ abilities. That is to say, when enrolling in university, there can be projects and presentations that they have to go through during their college time. Gradually, not only their communication and presentation skills but also other essential skills can be sharpened, which is of great importance when they participate in the labor market in the future.

As this trend occurs, both positive and negative effects can be seen. First, the intense competition among students and scholars may result in better study habits and high self-discipline, as there will be many talented and competent candidates from all over the world applying to universities every year, and the spots are also limited. As a consequence, students will have to burn the midnight oil if they want to avoid rejection. Positively, this may help them improve study habits, form a hard-working nature, and demonstrate determination under pressure to achieve any goals they desire. However, on the other hand, stressful competition also means students have to bury themselves not only in homework and essays but also in exams every day, to the point that they have less time for relaxation. Gradually, this may lead to some mental health issues, such as stress and anxiety, that they have to endure for a long time.

In conclusion, some elements, including the ambition to earn a degree or opportunities to develop students’ abilities, are the most influential contributors to the phenomenon of stressful competition. Therefore, this situation certainly brings both benefits and problems.