In many countries, more and more people are competing for a place to study in universities. Why does this happen? Do you think this is a positive or negative development?

Education plays a crucial role in shaping individuals’ future and contributing to national development. In recent years, university admissions have become progressively competitive in many nations. This trend can be attributed to economic, social, cultural factors. From my perspective, the surge in demand for tertiary education brings both benefits and drawbacks.

To begin with, there are several aspects contributing to the intensifying competition for university placements. One key reason is the widespread belief that a bachelor’s degree is a gateway to better job prospects as well as high income. As economies evolve, more employers tend to call for advanced qualifications, prompting students to pursue higher education. Another factor is societal pressure and parental expectations. In the Eastern cultures, it is believed that academic success is associated with social respect, long-term stability and upward mobility, which encourages students to aim for university even when it might not align with their aspirations or strengths.

On the one hand, the growing interest in higher education has brought about several merits. Increased competition motivates young individuals to be more diligent, disciplined as well as committed since they have to make great efforts to enroll in higher institutions. Hence, they can develop personal academic growth. Furthermore, it also drives many universities to improve their infrastructures, such as libraries, labs and classrooms. In addition, the intensifying competition for university places develops society. This can be explained by the fact that society with well-educated population can be fostered various innovative ideas and raise productivity in order to address some societal issues and contribute to the growth of economic sectors. For example, in China, people gain advanced knowledge in generating cutting-edge technologies, such as AI and robots, which is usually taught in tertiary education, so they can apply them in industrial manufacture to support the national economy.

On the other hand, despite the aforementioned advantages, the excessive university competition has triggered some disadvantages. Firstly, it can heighten pressure on candidates. In fact, they may suffer from peer pressure, parental expectations when they try to compete for university admissions. Consequently, their mental health is detrimentally affected, and they often feel burnout, depression as well as anxiety. Moreover, the growing competition for university placements might result in oversupply of graduates, which increases the unemployment rate. This is because the number of graduates exceeds the figure for jobs requiring a degree. As a result, they may work in a position which does not match their qualifications, and even remain unemployed.

In conclusion, the increasing competition for university places is mainly caused by society’s belief that academic qualifications are an essential pathway to success. While there are many benefits, such as the development of personal academic growth and progressive society, this phenomenon also poses some drawbacks, including bad mental well-being as well as the oversaturation of graduates. Personally, the authorities should create a sustainable and balanced environment for competition so that students could prioritize the values of academic and vocational training equally.