In many countries, more and more people are competing for a place to study in universities. Why does this happen? Do you think this is a positive or negative development?

In many countries, there are more people competing for a place to study in universities. There are two main reasons why this happens. In my opinion, this development is positive as well as negative.

There are two main reasons why more and more people are competing for a place to study in universities. First, in this century, people pay more attention in degree when looking for positions in work than in the past. So that, many parents want their children competing for a slot in the best university to have a good bachelor’s degree. Second, there are a limited number of universities but now we have many high school students. For this reason, having a slot in universities become harder, children must compete each other to have university permission.

In my opinion, competing for a place to study in universities is positive as well as negative. On the one hand, when we have a competition for studying in university, it can help students have motivation to study hard. Thanks to this, children can expand their knowledge about what they study and what they want, so that in the future children can help their country develop and become richer. On the other hand, although competing for a slot in university can help children have motivation to study, it can make their children become more stressed. It is mainly because children must spend a lot of time studying a big knowledge instead of playing with their friends or entertaining in their free time after studying in school.

In conclusion, the rising competition for studying in university in many countries has two main reasons. In my opinion, although this trend can help students have motivation to study hard, it also makes them become stressed.