in many countries, people are consuming more sugar based drinks than before. Why is this happening, and what could be done to reduce sugary drink consumption.

In present times, there has been a tremendous increase in various nations, in the number of persons consuming sugar based drinks like soft drinks, aerated drinks than earlier times. There are many reasons for this situation which have been presented in the following paragraphs.

Advertising agency is the main factor for this upsurge as it affects the masses instantaneously. Earlier, the media exposure was limited and thus the publicity of these drinks was also not widespread. However, it is not the case in present times. Nowadays, models and actors, in print and electronic media present these drinks as instant energisers. This motivates people to purchase and consume them on large scale. These drinks are presented as beneficial for athletes, children and youth. The tempting taste of these drinks is addictive in nature and their compact packaging makes them ready to be used anywhere. Furthermore, the attractive and bright prints on their covers of these drinks tempts the consumers to buy them. Also, their cheap prices and easy availability boost their sales among consumers. All these reasons are responsible for the increased demand of these drinks.

However, these claims are far from reality. The sugar content in such drinks is alarmingly high, which is not healthy for any person who consumes them on daily basis. These drinks have chemicals and preservatives in them which increase their shelf life but are not good for health . Due to such adverse effects on health, people should be motivated to limit their use. More healthier options like coconut water, lemonade and milkshakes should be available before masses. Government should apply stringent laws against companies which give misleading information about these drinks on their packaging.

To reiterate, it can be stated that an increase in awareness among people and application of strict laws can help in the decreased use of such sugar based drinks.