In many countries people have to pay for medical care, but some think that it should be a free service provided by the government. To what extent do you agree or disagree? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge and experience. Write at least 250 words.

The debate regarding whether the government should cover the medical costs of well-being for its people is centered in feasibility and the context of conditions surrounding the state. I agree with the people seeking free medical care but the state of affairs and circumstances should also be covered.

In well developed countries, it’s common for everyone to pay taxes. This constant deduction from their earnings makes them entitled to, atleast a, deduction in the cost of their medical maintenance. These medical perks will enable citizens to work to their potential which is advantageous to the government as its GDP increases along with its productivity. For example, healthier farmers can take care of their crop more efficiently. This strengthens the agricultural sector. Similarly, a soldiers performance will be enhanced if he is not concerned about the financial impact of demanding activities on his health.

However, critics often raise counter arguments stating that the government should prioritize other sectors like education and infrastructure. This argument stems from preference given to other sectors over the medical well-being of the populace. It must also be considered that free medical care puts extra workload on the medical industry leading to hospitals and clinics being overwhelmed. A prime example of this is COVID 19, when the rapidly increasing number of pandemic patients completely overwhelmed the medical industry, which, in most cases, failed to keep up with the disaster and its performance suffered because of it.

In conclusion, I believe the advantages outweigh the disadvantages. A healthier society will encourage the country’s progress to accelerate at a higher rate, and it’s positive consequences will reach beyond just the medical sector. This makes providing this service for free, a better option.