In many countries schools have severe problems with student behaviour, what do you think are causes of this? What solutions can you suggest?

For many years we’ve been faced with one of the main problems of students in school, behaviour and subordination to rules. From lack of respect shown towards teachers to increasing cases of violence and bullying episodes, discipline in class seems to be declining. This issue isn’t exactly a new thing and some researchers tried to find out the source of misbehaviour of pupils. One of the main causes of poor behaviour among students is the lack (or sometimes non-availability) of parental supervision. In many modern families, parents are noticed to give too much time to their work and spend too little time guiding their kids. As a result, we get that some children don’t have basic values such as showing respect to elders and taking responsibility for their studies and homework. A bad environment can also lead to a child’s behaviour at school. There have been numerous cases of students being subjected to social pressure and ultimately joining certain groups of students that exert a negative influence on others. But we shouldn’t forget that schools have their own responsibilities in case of their behaviour. That gives us a picture that schools often focus only on studies and academic results, neglecting moral education and emotional support. Such a problem as this cannot be solved only by changing one particular thing; it’s more about betraying our old routines to get better behaviour at school. We need a combination of actions from parents, teachers and even the government.

First of all, parents should consider working on their children’s upbringing, setting clear boundaries and being positive role models. Schools also have to provide classes which could include teaching empathy, teamwork and self-control. Teachers should be trained to handle various situations in which students are involved (for example, how to stop fights, resolve conflicts, support students in needed situations). Moreover, governments of various countries could use new policies which would create awareness about the importance of discipline, respect and the right education model. There are a few examples of countries with the best behaviour and studying results too – Japan, Finland and Singapore. These countries moved on to new methods of discipline at school.

In sum, if we want positive changes at school all over the world, everyone must do their part in fixing the behaviour of juveniles at school. It’s not as simple as it sounds, but it would give top results.