In many countries, there is a growing trend of food waste at both the consumer and retail levels. What are the primary reasons for this problem, and what effective solutions can be implemented to minimize food waste?

It has been observed that the amount of food waste have been increasing each year from both the consumer level and the food sector. It is stated that this issue occurs in many countries. It could be a result of multiple conditions that is not taken seriously. Therefore, it is important for government and its citizens to collaborate in order to solve this issue.

One of the reasons of this problem is lack of knowledge in composting waste. It is important for people to know how to manage their waste properly. Other than recycling, composting food waste is also important but often mislooked. It is the government’s role to make sure the education ministry make this topic as a priorty at school. They also need to ensure that the importance composting is spread widely via several media in the country. Then the citizens can implement this information to make an impact.

Moreover, social media is also a root cause to this situation. Nowadays, the food that people eat also have trends because social media content. People love to make big portions of food without actually consuming it for the sake of making a video. Consequently, the amount of food waste is increasing. It is important to have self awareness to this topic and government should penalize people that is proved to be wasting food in a large scale.

To conclude, by knowing the main cause for this issue, a change in food waste’s figure is expected. The government should be more assertive and make strict regulation so this situation does not continue to worsen. Citizens plays important role in building self-awareness to make a signifact impact globally.