In many countries today, people in cities either live alone or in small family units, rather than in large, extended family groups. Is this a positive or negative trend?

In this day and age, there is a growing trend for city dwellers to live in their own or nuclear families. In my opinion, this trend brings both positive and negative results in an equal way.

On the one hand, the increase in small households creates a positive impact. In terms of individuals, living alone enables residents to avoid disturbance from other members, which contributes to more privacy for people. In addition, smaller households are able to circumvent conflicts due to the generation gaps. This is because this kind of family contains just a small number of generations living together. In contrast, multigenerational families are more likely to suffer from disagreements, because of having different lifestyles and beliefs, generations living under the same roof have difficulty in understanding each other. In terms of economy, the trend to live alone or with a small number of family members is closely linked with the rise in demand for accommodation. This encourages sales in the Real Estate market, acting as a source of economic growth.

On the other hand, this situation can bring a number of considerable negative consequences. The first disadvantage is that living far away from other relatives may discourage direct interaction among family. Thereby instilling a sense of loneliness and isolation into citizens. Moreover, they also lack family gathering which plays an important role in cementing relationships. As a result, family bonding can easily be undermined. Furthermore, without financial support from other members, people living on their own have to face the whole living costs themselves. If this expenditure is beyond their financial reach, city dwellers will have to live with squalid living conditions, having incredibly low quality of life.

In conclusion, I believe that this trend has equally negative and positive perspectives for both individuals and society.