In many schools and universities, girls tend to choose arts subjects (eg, languages) and boys choose science subjects (eg. Physics). What do you think are the reasons? Do you think that this tendency should be changed?

It is widely believed that in school and university, girls tend to choose arts, while boys like science. In this essay, I will outline some reasons for this phenomenon and discuss whether this tendency should persist.

Firstly, boys prefer to study exact sciences like math, chemistry and physics because they have tendency to have more knowledge about these fields and it is more suitable for their personalities. It could be explained that the left part of boy’s brain is related to logic and math calculations. Thus, why boys always take part in technique subjects. As a result, most of the scientists and experts are males.

Secondly, girls are excel in creative and expressive domains and they tend to choose art-related courses such as design and painting. For instance, most of the best fashion designers are ladies, so they develop and create visual ideas.

From my perspective, both genders have a right to follow their dreams and be the best version of themselves. So, the situation when boys and girls should study subjects which are based on their genders is no longer in today’s society. Nowadays, individuals are breaking the barriers and achieving success in all kind of fields, whether it science or designing.

In conclusion, despite the gender differences, individuals should follow their dreams even though there are some barriers in studying subject