In many schools and universities, girls tend to choose arts subjects (eg, languages) and boys choose science subjects (eg. Physics). What do you think are the reasons? Do you think that this tendency should be changed?

In many educational institutions, there is a tendency of division in choosing subjects between girls who often enroll in arts classes and boys who love science subjects. It is therefore worth examining the underlying reasons of this phenomenon and I believe that this tendency reflects a negative development, which should be adjusted by other impacts.

Several factors have led to this gender difference in choosing majors. First and foremost, the GENDER STEREOTYPING is a prominent reason in explaining this tendency. From a social standpoint, girls are underestimated at an early age as science subjects are too challenging for them, which require logical and complex thinking. Therefore, they are encouraged to develop social skills and emotion by studying creative courses such as arts and language. Conversely, boys are expected to cultivate intellectual and analytical abilities to suit social demands such as becoming the future breadwinners, rendering them to feel that art subjects are not masculine enough and hesitate to choose them. Moreover, the specific and competence of each gender can be considered one of the important reasons. Stem from the fact that girls seem to be more patient and careful, therefore they are more suitable with types of subjects that require creativity and meticulousness. In contrast, males are better at logical reasoning than females, which analytical subjects may suit them better.

I am convinced that this phenomenon should be changed to suit modern society, where every gender discrimination should be disproved. One of the potential measures to tackle this problem is permitting boys and girls to pursue their own interests. They should have the right to choose different schools and subjects that cultivate their competence best rather than be prevented by stereotypes. Therefore, this can avoid the phenomenon of losing motivation in studying unsuitable subjects of students. Furthermore, parents and teachers should allow children to select every course they want regardless of genders, which boosts their motivation and promotes their educational performance on a long-term basis.

In conclusion, the social stereotyping and the uniqueness of genders are possible causes of the differences in selecting subjects between girls and boys. From my perspective, I wholeheartedly believe that this tendency should be changed by allowing children to follow their own interests.