In many schools and universities, girls tend to choose arts subjects (eg, languages) and boys choose science subjects (eg. Physics). What do you think are the reasons? Do you think that this tendency should be changed?

Gender stereotyping has become a common perception in society, affecting young people to take a subject that are not based on their capabilities but people’s opinion. This belief, along with an out-of-date perception, suggests men are only suited for subjects related to muscle and thinking, while women pursued to learn humanities and art subjects. I firmly believe that this trend should be reversed.

The main reason that caused this tendency is the public’s perception of innate abilities and skills that excel from one another, which results to limited opportunities to choose the subject that is suitable for students. For instance, there is a stereotype that art subjects like painting and dancing are symbol of feminism, while science subjects like engineering are only suitable for men due to power and critical thinking are required. These gender disparities create a perception that science departments are only preserved for men, hence women are more prone to learning art lectures rather than science-related subjects. The flip side, boys who have a passion into arts hesitate to join art-related subjects due to society’s opinion that force them to do something that they are not into.

Regarding the gender stereotyping, I strongly believe that this phenomenon has to be changed. People have to change their views about gender diversity in order to giving the same opportunities either to men or women to develop their skills. Diminishing the boundaries between gender and subject could create a new female expert in astronomy or a new male painting artist, which will influence the next generation to do whatever they are passionate about.

To conclude, it is imperative to ensure equitable participation of women and men in all academic disciplines. All gender has a comparable skills and abilities. Ultimately, every field has its own experts irrespective of the genders.