In many schools and universities, girls tend to choose arts subjects (eg, languages) and boys choose science subjects (eg. Physics). What do you think are the reasons? Do you think that this tendency should be changed?

In various educational institutes, there’s a noticeable tendency where the females are likely to choose art-related subjects, while the males are more interested in scientific lessons. The purpose of this essay is to analyze some of the primary reasons for this phenomenon and explain why I’m in agreement with the point that this trend should be modified.

The subject selection based on genders is attributed to a host of reasons. The primary factor is owing to parental guidance at the early age, such as encouraging them to play with toys that are gender specific, children are conscious of gender stereotypes and roles in the first years of life. For example, car toys are given for boys to stimulate motor skills, while girls are bought dolls to enhance social skills because these gender-segregated activities can lay the foundation for the discrepancy in subject selection in school. Another compelling reason is gender-specific personalities which can influence the subjects they feel more suitable and confident to pursuepursuing. One way to explain this is that males tend to be more competitive, which makes them more likely to engage in lessons that are perceived as challenging and highly logical demanding, such as chemistry, whereas the opposite gender has a tendency to opt for subjects that require imagination and creativity, thanks to their rich emotion.

On the one hand, I strongly believe that this tendency should be soon altered and I’ll give some radical factors why I agree with this statement. The first supporting point is that allowing learners to select a wide range of subjects can help them develop more comprehensively to prepare for their future career. To be more clear, the exposure of both art and science subjects possess various crucial skills on students, fostering their creativity, critical thinking as well as problem-solving skills. Moreover, the combination of both genders in the working environment can contribute better to the overall development. To give an instance, in a project, when males and females collaborate, they give different perspectives and counter-argument, leading to more innovative solutions and enhancing the effectiveness of the outcomes.

To sum up, the tendency for girls to enroll in art-related subjects and the opposite sex to select scientific subjects is influenced by parental guidance and gender-specific personalities. However, this trend should be eliminated to chase their interest and abilities regardless of gender in order to promote comprehensive skills and foster a more effective working space.