In many workplaces online communication has overtaken face to face meetings. Do the advantages of this development outweigh the disadvantages?

There is no doubt that we live in a more digitalized era than ever before. Our daily lives are shaped and influenced by modern techonologies and the Internet. Such developments unprecedently changes our settings. Online communication taking place of in-person meetings in numerous workplaces perfectly exemplifies this. While these changes are commonly acknowledged, their impact is still rather arguable matter. It is crucial to understand that, when used responsibly, online communication can be more beneficial than detrimental for our society. However, the scepticism around it can be well-grounded, as well as optimistic views.

According to the supporters of online meetings, this method of communication with coworkers is much more efficient than traditional in-office encounters. Thet argue that it enables employees to save time on commuting and work comfortably from home. Additionally, for those hired in multinational companies, it allows to discuss urgent matters within a few minutes rather than multiple hours needed for not only uncomfortable but also costly travel. Regarding that, it is not only time but also money saving solution.

On the other hand, some are concerned about its negative effect on work-life balance of workers. While working from home is undoubtly more convenient than going to the office everyday, it can blur the line between workplace and home. Traditionally, these two spheres where separated as they were in two different places; however, when we are offered to work remotely they may converge making it impossible to distinguish them. Consequently, it affects our mental well-being as our psyche needs a place that is designated for rest only. Moreover, online communication excludes some non-verbal but crucial aspects of human interaction, such as body language. During a meeting mediated by technology, it becomes harder to understand our interlocutor’s intentions and feelings as we are unable to analyze their movements. Although we tend to underestimate this details, they contribute heavily to our cognitive functions.

With this being said, I argue that online communication should be embraced with prudence rather than completly diminished. It can be both beneficial and detrimental for our communication with others, therefore we should use it although moderately.