In many workplaces online communication has overtaken face to face meetings. Do the advantages of this development outweigh the disadvantages?

These days, there has been a shift in the way people communicate in workplaces, with many businesses adopting an online working model instead of traditional ones. Despite some arguments against this tendency, I believe the benefits for employees outweigh the drawbacks.

Online communication in business indeed brings certain disadvantages for staff members. An important reason for this is that it causes bad results in work performance due to the lack of in person meetings between managers and employees or among different departments. The messages can be misunderstood when delivered through emails or text messages, leading to mistakes in collaboration and even conflicts; therefore, productivity is reduced.

On the positive side, online working is a good way for employees to save travel costs and manage time more efficiently. They not only work remotely from home but also do not need to prepare physical documents for meetings, thus reducing both costs and time. Moreover, working online also promotes international collaboration. Working through online platforms enables many companies to operate efficiently without a physical presence. For example, during the COVID-19 pandemic, online communication helped save the world from disrupting the flow of information in the supply chain.

In conclusion, it is undeniable that online communication in workplaces has its own benefits and drawbacks. I believe that the benefits have a greater impact on businesses and staff than the drawbacks, with the most visible reasons being employees’ expenses and international collaboration.