In many workplaces, online communication is now more common than face-to-face meetings. Do the advantages of this trend outweigh the disadvantages?

People hold different views about online communication. While there are some disadvantages of this trend that people mostly use the internet to communicate with partners in many workplaces, I would argue that its advantages outweigh them.

Admittedly, there are a number of disadvantages of online communication. Firstly, communication via the internet has some difficult interactions, which lead to work ineffectively in many workplaces. For example, in meetings, people dare not give an idea or lack of connection between employees which reduces opportunities for building relationships and teamwork. Thus, it negatively affects the companies’ operational efficiency. Secondly, since communication via computers and the internet can sometimes be unreliable, such as in times when the internet connection is slow or faulty. Therefore, this can lead to missed to messages, lost emails, low productivity.

However, I opine that online communication is outweighed by face-to-face meetings. The first positive aspect is that, because of ability to work remotely, companies can now have some branches in many countries and still enable employees to communicate quite effectively. In this way, they will not have to waste time if they have a meeting to attend at another location. In addition, this trend would be more convenient to their modern life. This is because the faster communication and quick response times which help employees easy access to information and resources.

In conclusion, although there are still some downsides to online communication, I believe that the benefits of it to enhance productivity companies are more significant.