In some countries, criminal trials in law courts are shown on television so that the general public can watch them. Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?.

In the contemporary era, law enforcement agencies in some nations have broadcasted several criminal cases on social media platforms. From my standpoint, I do perceive that while this practice may bring numerous positives, the overall impact is tremendously negative.

On the one hand, telecasting criminal courts on television could ensure transparency of the trial panel for a criminal case as well as the legal systems of countries. It is indisputable that televising trials can help people understand the order and procedures of the proceedings as well as the process of resolving the case by the legal professionals, including judges and prosecutors, to determine whether the case is resolve fairly and objectively or to ensure the legal rights and interests of the parties involved. This can foster trust in the general public toward the judicial system, ensuring all criminal trials are conducted legally and minimizing errors in judgment. Additionally, citizens will have more opportunities to acquire numerous understandings of not only the law from practical situations but also the transparency of each country’s legal bases and regulations, thereby enhancing public awareness.

On the other hand, I am convinced that there are significant disadvantages to broadcasting criminal courts on digital media, particularly concerning children and the privacy of individuals involved in cases. With the development of technology, the widespread broadcasting of criminal trials on television may gradually form children’s distorted perceptions if they lack parental care and guidance, leading to a serious impact on their intellectual development and personal values in the long term. For example, violent cases can easily cause them to imitate these aggressive behaviors which they acquired on television to their families, friends, or surrounding relationships. Furthermore, telecasting trial publicity may expose private information, triggering privacy concerns for witnesses, victims as well as accused in cases, and even their families. From that, these individuals are prone to extreme attacks by a part of society in their daily lives, not only on their mental but also their physical health.

In conclusion, despite the fact that televised trials could bring numerous benefits in increasing public awareness and improving the knowledge of the law for the citizens in the country, I firmly believe that these adverse impacts on children and the privacy of relevant parties should be more carefully considered.