In some countries, small town-centre shops are going out of business because people tend to drive to large out-of-town stores. As a result, people without cars have limited access to out-of-town stores, and it may result in an increase in the use of cars. Do you think the disadvantages of this change outweigh its advantages?

Nowadays in some countries people tend to drive to the big stores in the city center. Therefore, because of the decline in small stores, people without cars have limited access to out-of-town stores, which may lead to an increase in car use. In my opinion this change would do more harm than benefit.

In one respect, the rise in vehicle use is indeed beneficial. Because it means that more people can go shopping in larger stores, it encourages the expansion of larger stores that can stock a wider selection of products. As a result, customers don’t need to visit so many different retail areas because to buy different things. It is not possible to buy computers or groceries at the same time in a typical store, but this is permissible in a modern shopping center.

However, despite these positive aspects, there are also some disadvantages. The most important reason is that it will exacerbate social inequality, since those who do not own a car do not have access to retail shops outside of the city, which may limit their shopping choices and thus the quality of life for those of them becomes lower. The problem of environmental pollution cannot be ignored, as more people will be driving their own cars, leading to an increase in pollution from carbon emissions.

All in all, I think the bad outweighs the good of this change. This is because the increase in vehicle use has a negative impact on the quality of life of the general public and on the environment, even though this trend has the advantage that the economy be improved by promoting the development of modern shopping malls.