In some countries, small town-centre shops are going out of business because people tend to drive to large out-of-town stores. As a result, people without cars have limited access to out-of-town stores, and it may result in an increase in the use of cars. Do you think the disadvantages of this change outweigh its advantages?

Over several nations, there is an increasing trend that people are shifting from small shops located in urban centers to spacious out-of-town stores, creating various effects such as limited access to those without cars and the increase of car consumption. From my perspective, I believe that this trend holds more drawbacks than benefits.

Stores in spacious areas seem to be advantageous. To be specific, locating in a vast and non-urban area would increase the space and capacity of a certain store, allowing more groceries and products to be available. As a result, this availability would further supplement people’s needs. However, relocating stores to these areas eclipses this advantage as going to these areas is limited access as it requires transportation to get to these places. This would result in an inadequate supply of needs for those who do not have a vehicle. For example, those who do not have a car and live in cities rarely have the chance to go to out-of-town stores such as Walmart for buying groceries that are only available at Walmart.

Meanwhile, this trend holds concerns about its impact on the environment. As only a limited number of people could get to these stores, this increases the use of more cars. In particular, the rise of car use directly leads to the increase of gasoline consumption, contributing to existing environmental issues. Moreover, more budget would be spent for traveling expenses, wasting a huge amount of money in order to reach the destined stores.

In conclusion, there is a trend that people are heading towards spacious out-of-town stores rather than small shops in the town center. This tendency holds negative consequences more than positives as it is limited access to certain people and its contribution to environmental issues despite the availability of more goods.