In some countries, there has been an increase in the number of parents who educate their children themselves at home instead of sending them to school. Do you think the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

The trend of homeschooling has been on the increase in some countries as the decline in the number of school children are more noticeable. In my opinion, the potential negative implications brought about by this phenomenon are preeminent, however remarkable its perks are.

That parents prioritize self-educating their children over sending them to conventional education institutions holds certain merits, chief of which includes the personalized lessons tailored to the young learners’ needs. In this way, parents’ teaching methods can be more adaptive to best suit the knowledge acquisition pace of their cjildren, which proves exceptionally beneficial toward intellectually or corporally challenged youngsters. Furthermore, homeschooling also harbors great significance in the sense that it helps children avoid complications prevalent in the educational settings, such as being subject to bullying, discrimination, or isolation among peers. Therefore, young learners are more at ease, being cushioned in the comfort of their own home.

On the other hand, I personally believe that the drawbacks precipitated by solely teaching children at home overshadow the aforementioned benefits, the most serious one being the impairment of social skills. It is well-established that schools bear great resemblance to a miniature society, in which participants can attain knowledge as well as engage in social activities; therfore, keeping young children at home might result in a lack of social interactions, hindering their ability to establish relationships and handle various life situations. A prime example of this is that if a child lack interactions with others in their developing years, their communication and interpersonal skills, two of the most important abilities, cannot fully develop until adulthood. As a result, this is extremely damaging to their social and personal lives. Another noteworthy demerit is that the curricula provided by parents cannot always suit nor correlate with the current education system, which can lead to inaccuracy or inadequacy in understanding certain fields and pose an adverse effect when homeschooled learners compete in the job market.

In conclusion, although educating children at home is advantageous for the adaptive lessons and the absence of unwanted problems at school, it is highly recommended that they are sent to school to avoid problems that arise later in life.