In some countries young people have little leisure time and are under a lot of pressure to work hard on their studies. What do you think are the causes of this? What solutions can you suggest?

Pupils in some countries have strict leisure time and are under pressure during their studies. There are three main causes why this problem occurs in particular countries of the world and there are solutions to tackle this problem.

The first reason why some children have little free-time and under pressure is the competition between students. In developed countries competition between students allowed them to do extra activities after school. Children also have to deepen their knowledge by studying school subjects after school in a private agency. Therefore, extra study time after school may reduce their leisure time and cause them to be under pressure. In addition, parents expect more from their children. High expectations from the parents often leads their children to meet their expectations and to fulfil their parents’ will in the future. For example, parents who own a business may pass it to their next generation. Thus, the expectation from the parent may be harmful for their children’s development. The third reason is there are a lot of extracurricular activities that pupils have to do. Some non-academic activities such as learning music, dance, computer, new language, painting, drawing and art may be interesting for the children so they spend more time learning but at the end they will be exhausted and have no free time to socialize with their friends. Therefore, it will be beneficial for the children to spend more time freely at home with their family.

There are two solutions that may be useful to tackle this issue. Parents may have a greater understanding about their pupils’ needs. Each child may have different characters and different academic interests. By understanding their characters, parents may be able to help their children to focus only on the particular subject they perform better. Therefore, it may help them to have more leisure time and not be under pressure. Second is parents help their children to develop their area of interest. The last is, enforcing pupils to develop their area of interest may help the pupils to be good at particular character and skill development that may help them in their future life.

In conclusion, reducing stress in children and having leisure time for the children is a parent’s responsibility in two ways.