In spite of the advances made in agriculture, many people around the world still go hungry. Why is this the case? What can be done about this problem?

There is no doubt that starvation around the world is a significant concern, despite the advances made in agriculture. There seem to be two main causes of this phenomenon, and also two ways in which the situation can be managed.

Perhaps, the main factor of hunger around the world is economic barriers – low salaries, massive unemployment, and high food prices. Consequently, the availability of food in the market does not translate to accessibility, as many people are unable to afford the skyrocketing food costs. Coupled with this, a further well-known cause is conflict. In most cases, war destroys critical infrastructure such as roads, irrigation systems, and markets. Thus, people are struggling to transport food efficiently from the production area to the consumption centers.

To manage this issue, perhaps the most effective and possible solution would be for the government to create regulations about price ceilings. This includes price controls and food subsidies, such as setting a maximum price for staple foods and providing financial support for low-income families. Hence, the entire society is able to afford foodstuffs. Another solution might be a school-based feeding program, providing daily lunch to children every day and ensuring nutrition for cognitive development. For example, India’s Mid-day Meal Scheme (MDMS), the program’s goals are to protect children from hunger and improve nutritional status.

In summary, the main problems seem to be economic barriers and conflicts. The possible solutions would be for the authorities to establish regulations about food pricing and school-based feeding programs to maintain the starvation around the world.