In the past, important knowledge about history and culture was stored in museums. However, today, people can see everything on the internet without paying any money. Therefore, we no longer need museums. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

One school of thought holds that with the vast amount of information available online, museums are becoming obsolete, thereby, theyit should be replaced by digital resources. While acknowledging the reasons for this thinking, I would argue that it is not a practical option in various aspects.

On the one hand, it is understandable why some people propose rounding out the presencet of conventional museums and leavinge the stage for online museums. The key rationale is that the internet allows people to access to a wealth of information about history and culture from anywhere from worldwide. This would be synonymous with more users gaining valuable knowledge through online database virtual tours and digital archives just at the push of a button. In additionn to this, many online resources are freely available, making it easier for people to engage with historical content without the financial burden associated with museum admissions. The British Museum, one of the largest online museums in the world, is a telling example. The website has an extensive collection of over 8 million items and attracts over 500,000 visitors monthly.

On the other hand, I am convinced that the benefits of having physical museums can overshadow the superficial advantages of digital museums and, therefore their roles in society are irreplaceable. The primary reason is that it has a tangible connection to history. Museums offer a unique, sensational experience that encourage individuals to engage directly with artifacts, fostering a deeper emotional connection to history and culture that can be challenging to replicate online. This can be seen in the setting of the majority of museums with the lighting adjusted to flatter the artefacts or emphasise the intention of the artisan. Meanwhile, museums also serve as communal spaces that promote social interaction and cultural exchange, fostering a sense of belonging and shared heritage.

While the internet offers unprecedented access to information about history and culture, it cannot fully replace the invaluable experiences and educational opportunities provided by museums. Therefore, I contend that museums remain essential institutions in our society, complementing digital resources rather than becoming obsolete.